Our collection has seen the world.

The ifa agora is the central platform for the network, collection and archive of ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) in the field of art. It is a place of transcultural exchange – just as the agora in ancient Greece was a city’s most important meeting place and marketplace. It shows ifa’s relationships and brings them together online.

Ifa has a unique collection of 23,000 works of contemporary art from the 20th and 21st centuries – all significant works of their time. Around half of the works were acquired for the ifa exhibitions, which have been touring the world for more than 50 years; the other half come from the collection of the GDR Centre for Art Exhibitions (ZfK), which was transferred to ifa in 1991. Exhibits are currently on display in 25 exhibitions around the world.

The ifa agora provides detailed information on works, artists and the corresponding ifa exhibitions. All content is connected: with every new artwork that is made available in digital form and examined in its context, the agora changes and so too do the research possibilities it offers. Over time, the agora will provide an ever greater insight into the works that have emerged from touring exhibition runs and exhibition collaborations around the world since 1971, and that have been bought or borrowed for such exhibitions. The ifa agora will gradually be able to relate a more than 50-year history of international art and cultural relations from different perspectives. One of the stories – or histories – will be that of the artistic representation of the Federal Republic of Germany and of the German Democratic Republic.

We are currently in the process of making the agora visible and accessible. The launch of the agora in April 2022 will see the publication of an initial selection of touring exhibitions, with fascinating information on content, project partners and travel routes. For the first time, a major part of the collection will be displayed in the digital space. As the agora grows, various touring exhibitions past and present and ifa work in the art sector will gradually go online – from exhibitions at the two ifa galleries in Berlin and Stuttgart and works at the German Pavilion at the Venice Biennale to the exhibition projects that ifa supports around the world. In short, the agora will offer snapshots of artistic and curatorial processes and access to a wealth of ifa knowledge and experience in global artistic communication and exchange.

Otto Dix in Minsk (2007), Wolfgang Tillmans in Kinshasa (2018) and Abidjan (2022), Hannah Höch at 111 locations worldwide from 1985 to 2016, Rosemarie Trockel in Prague (2003) and Montevideo (2007) and representing Germany at the Venice Biennale (1999), Noa Eshkol in Beersheba (2019), Joseph Beuys in Kyiv and Cape Town (1999), Nasan Tur in Riyadh (2022)… our collection has seen the world.

Popular keywords

Many more works are hidden behind these terms

Find from the Agora

Click on the arrow symbol – Do you already know this work?

Title

Offen Enden (Open Ends), 2004

Year

Unsere Sammlung hat die Welt gesehen.

Die ifa Agora ist die zentrale Plattform für das Netzwerk, die Sammlung und das Archiv des ifa – Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen im Bereich der Kunst. Sie fungiert als Ort des transkulturellen Austauschs – so wie die Agora im antiken Griechenland als wichtigster Versammlungs- und Marktplatz der Stadt angelegt war. Sie macht die Beziehungen des ifa sichtbar und führt sie online zusammen.

Das ifa verfügt über einen einzigartigen Kunstbestand von 23.000 Werken zeitgenössischer Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts – künstlerische Positionen, die als repräsentativ angesehen wurden. Etwa die Hälfte der Werke wurde für die seit über 50 Jahren weltweit tournierenden ifa-Ausstellungen angekauft, die andere Hälfte stammt aus der Sammlung des Zentrums für Kunstausstellungen der DDR (ZfK), die dem ifa 1991 übertragen wurde. Weltweit sind aktuell Exponate in 25 Ausstellungen im Einsatz.

Die ifa Agora bietet detaillierte Informationen zu Werken, Künstler:innen und den mit ihnen verbundenen Ausstellungen des ifa. Alle Inhalte sind miteinander verknüpft, sodass die Agora mit jedem neuen Kunstwerk, das digital zur Verfügung gestellt und in seinem Kontext beleuchtet wird, ihre Erscheinungsform ändert und damit ihre Recherchemöglichkeiten. Im Laufe der Zeit wird sie einen immer umfassenderen Einblick geben können in die künstlerischen Positionen, die aus den weltweiten Ausstellungsstationen und -kooperationen seit 1971 hervorgegangen sind und für diese angekauft oder geliehen wurden. Sukzessive wird die ifa Agora damit eine mehr als 50-jährige Geschichte internationaler Kunst- und Kulturbeziehungen aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven erinnern und erzählen können. Eine dieser Geschichten wird jene der künstlerischen Repräsentation der BRD und DDR sein.

Wir befinden uns gegenwärtig mitten im Prozess des Sichtbar- und Zugänglichmachens. Mit dem Launch der Agora im April 2022 wird ein erster Teil der international tournierenden Ausstellungen mit Wissenswertem zu deren Inhalten, Projektpartnern und Reiserouten veröffentlicht – und somit auch ein wesentlicher Teil der Sammlung erstmals im digitalen Raum gezeigt. Mit ihrer Weiterentwicklung werden sukzessive unterschiedliche aktuelle und historische Tourneeausstellungen sowie Aktivitäten des ifa im Bereich der Kunst online gehen – von den Ausstellungen der beiden ifa-Galerien in Berlin und Stuttgart über die Beiträge des Deutschen Pavillons auf der Venedig Biennale zu den weltweit geförderten Ausstellungsprojekten. Damit ermöglicht die Agora Momentaufnahmen in aktuelle künstlerische und kuratorische Prozesse genauso wie den Blick in den großen Wissensspeicher und Erfahrungsschatz der globalen künstlerischen Vermittlungsarbeit des ifa.

Otto Dix in Minsk (2007), Wolfgang Tillmans in Kinshasa (2018) und Abidjan (2022), Hannah Höch an 111 Orten weltweit von 1985-2016, Rosemarie Trockel in Prag (2003) und Montevideo (2007) sowie als Deutscher Beitrag für die Venedig Biennale (1999), Noa Eshkol in Beer Sheva (2019), Joseph Beuys in Kiew und Kapstadt (1999), Nasan Tur in Riad (2022) – unsere Sammlung hat die Welt gesehen.

Beliebte Schlagworte

Hinter diesen Begriffen verbergen sich viele weitere Werke

Fundstück aus der Agora

Klicke auf das Pfeilsymbol – Kennst du dieses Werk schon?

Titel

Aus: Interieurs (7)

Enstehungsjahr