Arno Fischer. Photography

With 183 photographs, the Institute for International Cultural Relations (ifa) presents an impressive overview of the outstanding oeuvre of the photographer and photography teacher Arno Fischer, who was born in 1927 in Berlin. To this day, his black-and-white photos have influenced several generations of photographers – not only in the east of Germany.

28 Stops

1 ⁄ 10
  • Seoul , Südkorea

    Sungkok Art Museum

    2022

    23.06–21.08

  • Busan, Südkorea

    Goeun Museum of Photography

    2021

    27.02–02.06

  • Recife, Brazil

    Museu do Estado de Pernambuco (MEPE) – Landesmuseum vom Pernambuco

    2020

    23.01–18.02

Artists

3 Contributors

  • Matthias Flügge,

    Arno Fischer,

    Concept

  • Alexander Lisewski,

    Project Management ifa

About the exhibiton

The exhibition presents the different phases of Arno Fischer’s work, starting with his early photographic essay Situation Berlin which takes an in-depth look at the four allied sectors of the city. With the construction of the Berlin Wall in 1961, a planned book of these photos was forbidden. Also on show are Arno Fischer’s photographs for the East German culture and fashion magazine Sibylle and his fascinating portraits of celebrities
such as Marlene Dietrich. Numerous travel pictures from all over East Germany, but also from India, Africa and New York, are another highlight of the exhibition.

The last section of the exhibition is devoted to a series of intimate Polaroid pictures of Arno Fischer’s garden. The artist arranged still-lifes and detail shots in groups. They show an essence, a concentration of his work.

117 Artworks

Look at the Collection

Arno Fischer. Fotografie

Mit 183 Fotografien präsentiert das ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) einen eindrucksvollen Überblick über das außergewöhnliche Lebenswerk des 1927 in Berlin geborenen Fotografen und Fotografielehrers Arno Fischer. Bis heute sind seine Schwarz-Weiß-Bilder für Generationen von Fotografen, nicht nur im Osten Deutschlands, stilprägend.

Über die Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung zeigt die verschiedenen Schaffensphasen Arno Fischers. Den Ausgangspunkt bildet seine frühe Arbeit Situation Berlin, in der er die Vier-Sektoren-Stadt Berlin fokussiert und deren geplante Publikation mit dem Mauerbau 1961 verboten wird. Gezeigt werden weiterhin seine Arbeiten für das ostdeutsche Kultur- und Modemagazin Sibylle sowie faszinierende Porträts von berühmten Persönlichkeiten wie Marlene Dietrich. Zahlreiche Reisebilder quer durch die DDR und das Ausland, wie Indien, Afrika und New York sind ein weiterer Schwerpunkt.

Den letzten Abschnitt der Ausstellung bildet eine Reihe von Polaroid-Fotografien aus dem Garten Arno Fischers. Die entstandenen Stillleben und Details hat der Künstler in Gruppen angeordnet. Sie zeigen eine Essenz, eine Verdichtung seines Werks.

117 Werke

Blick in die Sammlung